Confessions of an editor

Washington Post’s Outlook editor Carlos Lozada has reviewed Roy Peter Clark’s book “How to Write Short: Word Craft for Fast Times” and includes some of his own gems for word nerds:

Confession No. 1: I edit with a tweet in mind.

… When I’m editing an essay or opinion piece, I try to make sure the final version includes some memorable lines that I imagine getting posted, shared, tweeted and retweeted. I’ll even slice a smart but lengthy passage for that purpose. “Trust me,” I advise the author, “you’ll get more readers this way.”

Yes, anticipating the social-media response has become part of the editing craft.

Confession No. 4: The writer and editor in me don’t like each other.

As an editor, I don’t just prune, I slash and burn. But the writer in me desires what the editor in me cannot abide. I treasure every precious construction, every not-so-clever aside. (Like this one.) So the cuts I make to my own drafts are marginal. I compress rather than select; shake, never prune. Until another editor does it for me.

My reluctance is pointless, because we don’t need many words to evoke beauty and emotion, let alone deliver insight and clarity.

Leave a Reply

