McAdams: Learning code is like learning commas

Florida journalism professor Mindy McAdams, in her most recent post:

You know how to use a comma? Good, I would expect that. The basic use of HTML is just as important as correct use of commas, and it’s certainly not harder to learn.

She is absolutely correct. I’m self-taught, as are many folks. There are now many tutorials like Udemy and Lynda and Codeacademy and more. Professor McAdams is walking you through some important points on her site, as well.

The guy that taught me how to write code put me in front of a computer and said “Use this and that. Go for it. Trial and error.”

It was one of the best experiences I had in college, and I picked it up in a computer lab in my free time. So if you start down that path, let me know. I’ll be happy to help.

One thought on “McAdams: Learning code is like learning commas

  1. Pingback: Anyone notice the weather today? Not me. « Kenny Smith | A few words …

Leave a Reply

