Al Jazeera airs documentary shot on a mobile phone

Al Jazeera is today broadcasting a documentary about Syria. The project was shot entirely on an iPhone. (There is a teaser video at the link.) Near the beginning of the documentary the reporter says:

I can’t tell you my name. I’ve spent many months secretly in Syria for Al Jazeera.

I cannot show my face and my voice is disguised to conceal my identity, because I don’t want to endanger my contacts in Syria.

Because carrying a camera would be risky, I took my cell phone with me as I moved around the country and captured images from the uprising that have so far remained unseen.

What have you been doing with the phone in your pocket?

Leave a Reply

